Last verified: 4 October 2026

Tally alternatives for operational teams: four real options, and what Tally itself costs

Tally is the incumbent most Indian operational teams already run, and for a lot of them the honest answer is that it is not the problem. The problem is usually one layer above the ledger: quotes that do not attach to work, an invoice nobody can trace back to why it was raised, or a receivable you can only reconstruct from memory. This page compares the alternatives we could actually verify, prices read from each vendor’s own page, and is candid about the one product we could not reach at all, which is Vyapar rather than Tally.

An earlier version of this roundup was wrong about Tally, and the correction belongs here. That version asserted nothing about Tally and left its column blank, because a check on 4 October 2026 tested tally.net.in, which does serve a TLS certificate issued for an unrelated domain and still does. The check should have continued: those are not Tally’s commercial hostnames. Tally sells from tallysolutions.com, which returns HTTP 200 and publishes its price list. The TallyPrime figures now in the table are read from Tally’s own buy page on 4 October 2026, with the URL in the sources below, and publishing nothing about a real company was a false claim rather than an act of caution. NoxOrigin publishes this page and makes one of the products in it, described only from our own shipped product and our own terms.

Evidence and method

What we verified, and what we could not

What we verified

Five products, each read from its own vendor page on 4 October 2026: TallyPrime from Tally’s buy page, read for both editions, all four billing cycles on each, the edition descriptions, the GST treatment and the feature list attached to those plans. Zoho Books from its India pricing page, reached through a 302 redirect from the global path and read for plan prices, free plan features, user allowances, add-on prices, invoice limits, report limits and support arrangements. myBillBook from its current pricing page, read for four plan cards, seat and business allowances, feature differences, annual totals, the money-back window and the annual discount. Busy from its pricing page, read for both product lines, per-term prices, plan features, and the set of capabilities the vendor marks as scheduled rather than available. And Nox-Billings from our own published commercial terms.

What we could not verify

Vyapar, and only Vyapar. Its site timed out on every path we tried on 4 October 2026, so we have left it out of the table rather than print a price we could not read. Much of Tally, beyond its price list. Tally’s buy page states editions, cycles, prices, GST and a short feature list. It does not state a support model, a user count, a renewal basis beyond the four cycles, a document ceiling, or what e-invoicing and e-way bills cover in practice, and we make no claim about any of those. Where the page is silent, the table says it is silent.

Two Indian billing products a reader will expect to see need explaining. Vyapar was unreachable from our network on 4 October 2026, with both hostnames timing out at 20 seconds with no response, and myBillBook’s expected .com pricing paths returned 404s before we found the real page on a different domain. We found myBillBook and read it properly. We could not find Vyapar, so we publish nothing about it. A short verified list is more useful than a long unverified one , and we would rather tell you what we could not do than pad the page with remembered prices.

Side by side

The comparison, with each vendor’s own figures in the open

All figures last checked 4 October 2026, each read from the vendor page named in the sources below. A cell that says the page did not state something means the vendor page we read did not state it, not that the product lacks it. The Tally column now carries Tally’s own published prices; where its buy page is silent, the cell keeps the question rather than filling it with something plausible.

DimensionTallyPrime (verified 4 October 2026)Zoho BooksmyBillBookBusyNox-Billings
Published price, last checked 4 October 2026Read from https://tallysolutions.com/buy-tally/ on 4 October 2026, in rupees and before GST. TallyPrime Silver — 1 Month ₹750; 3 Months ₹2,250, stated as an effective ₹2,138 per month; 12 Months ₹9,000, stated as an effective ₹8,100 per month; Lifetime ₹22,500 plus 18% GST. TallyPrime Gold — 1 Month ₹2,250; 3 Months ₹6,750, stated as an effective ₹6,413 per month; 12 Months ₹27,000, stated as an effective ₹24,300 per month; Lifetime ₹67,500 plus 18% GST. The page’s own headline is “flexible plans starting at ₹750”, and it states the lifetime totals in words as 22,500 + 18% = 26,550 and 67,500 + 18% = 79,500. The effective per-month figures are Tally’s arithmetic on a longer term, not a cheaper monthly price.Per organisation per month: Free at no charge; Standard INR 899 monthly or INR 749 billed annually; Professional INR 1,799 or INR 1,499; Premium INR 3,599 or INR 2,999; Elite INR 5,999 or INR 4,999; Ultimate INR 9,599 or INR 7,999. Stated exclusive of local taxes.Plus INR 403 per month or INR 291 per month billed annually (INR 3,490 per year). Pro INR 665 monthly or INR 333 annually (INR 3,990 per year). Pro Max starts at INR 1,026 monthly or INR 570 annually.Subscription line, per 360 days: Start INR 5,000; Smart INR 8,000; Power INR 12,000; Power+ INR 50,000. A separate older line shows Express INR 0, Basic INR 11,000, Standard INR 16,500 and Enterprise INR 22,000 with no recurring period shown.No public price. Scoped custom deployment, quoted after workflow, volume, hardware, branding and integration requirements are reviewed. The platform plans of INR 800, INR 1,600 and INR 5,000 per month are the platform only and are not a Nox-Billings price.
How the price scalesBy edition and by term, and there is a perpetual option rather than only a subscription. Silver is stated as “Suitable for businesses that need TallyPrime on a single PC” and Gold as “Perfect for businesses needing multi-user access on multiple PCs”, so the edition line is the seat and machine line. On top of that, a 12-month term works out cheaper per month than three 1-month payments, and a Lifetime licence is a third model again: ₹22,500 plus 18% GST for Silver, ₹67,500 plus 18% for Gold. The page states no per-user price and no user count, so ask Tally what a multi-user Gold setup costs in practice and what a renewal is based on.Per organisation, not per user. The scaling lever is the user allowance: 3 on Standard, 5 on Professional, 10 on Premium, 15 on Elite and 25 on Ultimate, with user add-ons sold separately.Per subscription, not per user. Plus and Pro cover one business with one user plus one CA; Pro Max covers two businesses and three users, both upgradeable.Per 360-day term on the subscription line, so the number to read is the annual one multiplied forward. Power+ raises headcount and company limits rather than adding a per-user price.Scoped by deployment. Locations, counters, staff and bill volumes are all quoted rather than listed, so there is no public rate card to compare.
Free tier, as the vendor states itNo free tier and no trial is listed on the page we read. The cheapest entry Tally advertises is the ₹750 one-month TallyPrime Silver, and the page also offers a Lifetime licence. Ask Tally directly whether a trial or a lower entry point exists.Yes, and it is substantial: invoices, quotes, bills, expenses, journals, bank reconciliation, sales and purchase orders, inventory tracking, GST reports and filing, and P&L with Balance Sheet and 50-plus reports, for one user plus one accountant. Available indefinitely as long as financial year revenue does not exceed 25 lakhs.No free plan is listed on the pricing page we read. The FAQ describes a free trial for first-time users through the mobile app rather than a free tier.Yes, on the older line: the Express edition is stated as 100% free billing and accounting at INR 0.No free tier and no trial period. This is a deployment with an onboarding scope, not a subscription you can start for nothing.
Volume ceilings that will decide itNot stated on the page we read. Tally’s buy page quotes no document, invoice or voucher ceiling on either edition, and the edition split is a machine count rather than a volume allowance, so do not read Silver and Gold as small and large plans. Ask Tally for the practical limits on each edition.Annual invoice limits: Free up to 1,000, Standard up to 5,000, Professional up to 10,000, Premium up to 25,000, Elite and Ultimate up to 1,00,000, with a higher limit available from Zoho. Free is also capped at 1,000 bills or expenses a year.Seat and business caps rather than document caps: one business and one user plus one CA on Plus and Pro, two businesses and three users on Pro Max. We did not read a document limit on this page and are not going to infer one.Document and entity limits are stated as e-invoice and e-way bill ceilings rather than invoice caps: up to 10,000 on Smart, 20,000 on Power and 50,000 on Power+, with 10 users and 150 companies on Power+.Bill volumes are part of the deployment scope rather than a published allowance, so the question to ask in a conversation is the monthly bill count and the peak, not the seat count.
GST invoicing and statutory filingTally’s buy page lists “e-Invoicing and e-way bills” among the features included in TallyPrime Silver and Gold. That is Tally advertising a capability, and where e-invoicing or e-way bills are a legal obligation for your business, Tally is the better buy on this row and NoxOrigin is not, because we generate no e-invoices and issue no e-way bills. The page does not state which returns are generated or filed, so we make no claim about filing itself.Yes, and filing is named rather than implied: the Free plan card lists GST reports and filing, Professional and above add sales and purchase approvals, and Premium and above handle multiple GSTINs and location add-ons include one GSTIN each.Billing and GST are the product, per the page title and its invoice, custom themes and barcode features. We did not read a return filing or reconciliation control on the pricing page, so we make no claim about filing.Yes, and we have to be precise because the page is precise. On the subscription line, Smart names a GSTR-1 and IFF dashboard, e-way bill and e-invoice up to 10,000, and party return status checks; Power adds multiple GSTINs in one company and e-invoice up to 20,000; Power+ adds e-invoice up to 50,000. TDS and TCS reconciliation and filing is marked scheduled rather than available.Prepares GST-compliant invoices and reports and exports them for posting, and does not file GST returns, TDS or any other statutory return. No general ledger, no period close.
Multi-user and multi-counter accessThis is the one multi-user axis Tally does quantify, and it quantifies it in machines rather than seats: Silver is for TallyPrime on a single PC, and Gold is described as “Perfect for businesses needing multi-user access on multiple PCs” at ₹2,250 for 1 Month, ₹6,750 for 3 Months, ₹27,000 for 12 Months or ₹67,500 for Lifetime plus 18% GST. The page states no user count, so a counter running a shift is a question for Tally about how many users Gold actually covers.Priced per organisation with a user allowance of 3, 5, 10, 15 and 25 by tier, custom user roles from Professional, and a locations add-on at INR 600 or INR 720 per location per month including one GSTIN.One user plus one CA on Plus and Pro; three users plus one CA on Pro Max, with more businesses and users available as upgrades. That is a real ceiling for a counter that runs a shift.Power+ lists 10 users and 150 companies, and the page states the Smart, Power and Power+ plans also allow additional users. Power is positioned explicitly around multi-branch operations.Counters, staff and locations are named deployment scope items rather than published allowances. Staff who only need one function sign in with a PIN tied to their own person record, so a shift is attributable to a person rather than a shared device.
Expense trackingNot named on the page we read. Tally’s buy page is a price list and does not describe an expense module, so get it confirmed rather than assuming it from the product category.Yes, on the Free plan card, alongside purchases, bills and expenses, with an employee add-on from Premium for staff allowances.Expense tracking is not named on the pricing page we read. Get it confirmed rather than assuming it from the product category.Not read on the pricing page. The page covers billing, accounting, inventory and payroll as feature areas but we did not verify an expense module there.Yes, and only here: expense tracking with categorisation and reporting is a Nox-Billings capability, not part of the platform subscription. Purchasing lives in the separate Commerce area.
Projects, timesheets and payrollNot stated on the page we read. Tally’s buy page sells two accounting editions and a short feature list, and timesheets and payroll are not in it, so ask Tally rather than inferring from the category.Professional and above list bill timesheets, project profitability and manage retainers. Payroll is a separate Zoho product with its own employee add-on from the Premium plan upward.Not read on the page we could load.Payroll management is named as a feature area in the BUSY 21 comparison. Timesheets were not read on the pricing page.Neither, and this is a firm boundary: there is no timesheet record and no payroll module in NoxOrigin. A business that pays staff from captured hours needs a payroll product alongside this.
TrialNot verified. Tally’s buy page does not list a trial period or a free edition, and the ₹750 one-month TallyPrime Silver is a paid month rather than a trial. Ask Tally directly.14 days free before subscribing, with no contract and no commitment to continue.A free trial for first-time users through the mobile app, plus a 7-day money-back guarantee stated on the plan cards.Not verified from the page we read. Demo requests are offered throughout.None. A deployment has an onboarding scope rather than a trial period.
Best case for itA business that needs a ledger, statutory compliance and data on infrastructure it controls, and is willing to buy a lifetime licence rather than a subscription. On a multi-PC counter, Gold is the edition Tally points at; where the requirement is statutory e-invoicing and e-way bills, Tally advertises that it covers it and nothing on this page matches it.A business that wants a web-hosted ledger with published rupee prices, a genuine free tier to start on, and GST filing in the same product.A small trading business that wants billing, barcode printing and an online store at a low annual cost, primarily on a phone.A trading or manufacturing business that needs GST return dashboards, e-invoice and e-way bill volumes, and stock inside an accounting product.A multi-counter or multi-location operation where staff need controlled per-person access, discount approval and a day-end, and the deployment can be scoped properly rather than bought off a shelf.

Read the GST row twice. It is the row where these products genuinely differ, and it is the row where a roundup is most likely to mislead you. Tally’s own buy page lists “e-Invoicing and e-way bills” among the features included in TallyPrime Silver and Gold. Zoho Books names filing on its free tier. Busy names dashboards, e-invoice and e-way bill volumes and then marks TDS and TCS reconciliation and filing as scheduled. NoxOrigin generates no e-invoices, issues no e-way bills, and files nothing at all, and says so. If statutory compliance is your requirement, the accounting products are the purchase and an operating platform is not a substitute for one, however good the invoice is.

The entries

Each product, with its real limits

TallyPrime

Source-verified price, and the incumbent Read from Tally’s buy page at tallysolutions.com/buy-tally/ on 4 October 2026, which returned HTTP 200 and carries the headline “flexible plans starting at ₹750”. In rupees and before GST: TallyPrime Silver — 1 Month ₹750; 3 Months ₹2,250, stated as an effective ₹2,138 per month; 12 Months ₹9,000, stated as an effective ₹8,100 per month; Lifetime ₹22,500 plus 18% GST. TallyPrime Gold — 1 Month ₹2,250; 3 Months ₹6,750, stated as an effective ₹6,413 per month; 12 Months ₹27,000, stated as an effective ₹24,300 per month; Lifetime ₹67,500 plus 18% GST. The page states the lifetime totals in words as 22,500 + 18% = 26,550 and 67,500 + 18% = 79,500.

What it is genuinely good at

Being the accounting product with a perpetual option and a published one-month entry. A lifetime licence at ₹26,550 for Silver or ₹79,500 for Gold, with those totals stated by Tally itself, is a commercial model none of the other entries on this page offers: you pay once and the ledger is yours. And the feature list attached to those plans includes “e-Invoicing and e-way bills”, which is a statutory capability we do not have and are not going to pretend otherwise about. The edition descriptions are about deployment shape rather than size: Silver for TallyPrime on a single PC, Gold for multi-user access on multiple PCs.

Real limitations

What we are publishing here is a price list, and the page we read is one. It states no free tier, no trial, no user count, no per-user price, no document or volume ceiling, no support model, and no renewal basis beyond the four published cycles. The effective per-month figures on the 3-month and 12-month terms are Tally’s own arithmetic on a longer term and should not be read as a cheaper monthly price. An earlier version of this roundup claimed Tally could not be read at all, because it tested the apex hostnames tally.net.in and www.tally.net.in, which do fail the TLS handshake; those are not Tally’s commercial site, and the figures above were read from the one that is.

Who should skip it

Skip it if you want a free tier to start on, because none is listed on the page we read. Skip it if you need the ledger and the operational record in one product, because the ledger and the compliance work stay here whether or not you also buy an operating record, and adding a platform does not remove that. And skip the switch entirely if your accountant already runs it and nothing is broken, because migration cost in an accounting package is measured in years of data and a year-end that still has to close.

Zoho Books

Source-verified price Read from the India pricing page at zoho.com/in/books/pricing/, reached through a 302 redirect from the global path. Per organisation per month: Free at no charge; Standard INR 899 monthly or INR 749 billed annually; Professional INR 1,799 or INR 1,499; Premium INR 3,599 or INR 2,999; Elite INR 5,999 or INR 4,999; Ultimate INR 9,599 or INR 7,999. Zoho states prices are exclusive of local taxes.

What it is genuinely good at

Being a real ledger with a real free tier. Bank reconciliation, sales and purchase orders, inventory tracking, GST reports and filing, P&L and Balance Sheet with 50-plus reports, a self-service customer portal and automated payment reminders are all named on the Free plan card, for one user plus one accountant, with no subscription cost while financial year revenue stays under 25 lakhs. That is the strongest single fact on this page, because it means an operating platform bought to solve an accounting problem would be paying twice for the same job.

Real limitations

The free tier is capped at 1,000 invoices and 1,000 bills or expenses a year, and the invoice ceiling then climbs by plan: 5,000 on Standard, 10,000 on Professional, 25,000 on Premium and 1,00,000 on Elite and Ultimate. Every figure is pre-GST. It is priced per organisation, so a second branch is a locations add-on at INR 600 or INR 720 per location per month including one GSTIN, not a second seat. And report scheduling is tiered at 5, 50 and 200 reports, so a business that runs a lot of scheduled reporting will hit the ceiling before it hits the user allowance.

Who should skip it

Skip it if you need a counter, a PIN at a shared device or a stock scan, because that is an inventory and operations job rather than a ledger one, and Zoho Inventory is a different product. Skip it if you need expense handling tied to a counter’s staff, because the employee add-on starts at the Premium plan. And skip it if you need a published per-seat price, because it is per organisation and the user count is an allowance rather than a multiplier.

myBillBook

Source-verified price, with one unexplained discrepancy The pricing page shows Plus at INR 403 per month or INR 291 per month billed annually, shown as INR 3,490 for the year; Pro at INR 665 monthly or INR 333 annually, shown as INR 3,990 for the year; and Pro Max starting at INR 1,026 monthly or INR 570 annually. The page states a 7-day money-back guarantee on all plans and a yearly discount of up to 20%. The same page’s FAQ says the basic plan starts at Rs.349 per month, which does not match the INR 403 on the lowest plan card. We publish both and attribute them to myBillBook rather than choosing between them.

What it is genuinely good at

Billing that works from a phone, at a genuinely low annual cost. Plus covers one business with one user plus one CA, syncs across unlimited devices, runs on Android, iOS and Web, and includes custom invoice themes, an online store and print and barcode scanning. Pro adds a desktop app, godowns, SMS and WhatsApp marketing, label printing and bulk download and print of invoices, for INR 3,990 a year. For a small trading business that invoices from a counter, that is a well-matched product at a price we could not match from a Western vendor.

Real limitations

One user plus one CA is the ceiling on the two plans most people would start on, and Pro Max only reaches three users. That is a real constraint for a counter running a shift, and it is the first thing to check. The page carries no document limit we could read, so we are not going to invent one, but the absence of a published cap is not evidence of unlimited volume. We did not verify return filing, reconciliation, expense tracking or any multi-location story on this page, so we make no claims about them. And a vendor page that states two different starting prices is a reason to ask about renewal as well as headline.

Who should skip it

Skip it if more than one person needs to raise an invoice, because one user plus one CA is the stated ceiling on Plus and Pro. Skip it if you need a multi-branch or multi-counter operation, because Pro Max starts at two businesses and three users. And skip it if you need statutory filing inside the product, because we could not read it on the page and will not assume it.

Busy

Source-verified price, two product lines The subscription line reads per 360 days: Start INR 5,000, Smart INR 8,000, Power INR 12,000 and Power+ INR 50,000. A separate older line on the same page shows Express at INR 0, Basic at INR 11,000, Standard at INR 16,500 and Enterprise at INR 22,000 with no recurring period displayed. Each subscription card carries a special offer of one mobile app for the first 360 days at no cost.

What it is genuinely good at

Indian GST compliance inside an accounting product, at a per-term price that is readable without a sales call. Smart, marked Most Popular, names a GSTR-1 and IFF dashboard, e-way bill and e-invoice creation up to 10,000, and party return status checks; Power adds multiple GSTINs in one company and e-invoice up to 20,000; Power+ reaches 10 users, 150 companies and e-invoice up to 50,000. The Express edition being free is also a genuine starting point. Note that Busy publishes an aggregate rating of 4.5 from 368 ratings in its own page data; that is Busy rating itself and we have no visibility into how it is collected, so treat it as the vendor’s own unverified claim.

Real limitations

Two, and the vendor states both. First, the page marks a set of capabilities as scheduled rather than available, and that list includes TDS and TCS reconciliation and filing, production and unassembly, and job-work. If your requirement is TDS filing, that is not what you would be buying today. Second, the pricing runs per 360 days rather than per month, so the number to compare against a monthly subscription is multiplied forward, and the two product lines with different pricing bases are easy to confuse. We did not verify expense tracking, timesheets or multi-location detail on the page.

Who should skip it

Skip it if TDS or TCS filing is the requirement, because the page marks that as scheduled. Skip it if you want a monthly price you can divide, because the term is 360 days and the annual arithmetic is yours to do. And skip it if you need per-person access control at a counter, because this is a desktop-led accounting product and we did not read a shared-device model on the page.

Nox-Billings

Our own product, our own terms Nox-Billings is a dedicated custom deployment quoted as a scoped quote, not a self-serve subscription. Locations, counters, staff and bill volumes are all scope items, and the quote follows review of workflow, volume, hardware, branding and integration requirements. We publish no price for it, and the NoxOrigin platform plans of INR 800, INR 1,600 and INR 5,000 per month are the platform only and are not the price of a Nox-Billings deployment. That distinction is on our own pricing page and we are repeating it here because roundups are exactly where it gets blurred.

What it is genuinely good at

Making the counter attributable. Staff who need the system for one function sign in with a PIN tied to their own person record rather than sharing a login, so a shift, a scan or a counter action traces to a person even on a business-owned device. Discount approval, quotes, invoices and payment recording are separate explicit permissions, a manager approval can be required, and a supervisor override is recorded. Expense tracking with categorisation and reporting sits here rather than in the platform subscription, and outstanding value is a view by client and by age rather than a report you have to run.

Real limitations

The first is the one that matters for a page about replacing Tally: we do not maintain a general ledger and we do not file GST returns, TDS or any other statutory return. We prepare invoices and reports and export them so your accountant can post without re-keying, and the filing stays with your accountant. There is also no timesheet record and no payroll module, and purchasing lives in the separate Commerce area. There is no trial, because a deployment has an onboarding scope. And the honest maturity disclosure is that in our own capability register Nox-Billings day-end is at assisted-setup status rather than fully self-serve, so ask us that directly before you buy.

Who should skip it

Skip it if you are replacing Tally because of a filing problem, because we do not file and you would still need your accounting package. Skip it if you want a published self-serve price, because a scoped quote is what this is. And skip it if one person does all the billing, because a permission model is then solving a problem you do not have. If you need a real ledger with GST filing in one product, TallyPrime and Zoho Books are both in that conversation, and we have said so above.

Before you replace anything

Who should buy none of them

Replacing an accounting package you already know is one of the most expensive software decisions a small business makes, and in four situations the right answer is to keep it.

Your accountant already runs everything on Tally

The strongest argument for the incumbent is rarely a feature list. It is that your accountant can open it without training, produce your return without asking you anything, and has never had to chase you for a figure. That institutional knowledge is worth more than a rupee of licence cost, and replacing it means transferring years of ledgers, party masters and reconciliation habits. If Tally is doing the filing, keep it.

Your real problem is the ledger, not the operations

If the pain is that your books do not balance and your return is late, none of the operational products on this page will fix it, including ours. You need accounting that files, and Zoho Books has a free tier that includes GST reports and filing. Buying an operating platform because a comparison page looked persuasive is how businesses end up with two half-systems and a missed deadline.

You are changing because a salesperson called

Migration cost in an accounting package is measured in years of data, opening balances, party balances and a year-end that has to still close. A cold call offering a discount is not a reason. If you are switching, the reason should be a capability you have confirmed is missing, and you should price the migration and the parallel-run period before you sign anything.

You need one product, and none of these is one

Every entry on this page is either an accounting product or an operational record, and the two are not the same thing. A business that genuinely needs a general ledger, statutory filing, timesheets, payroll and a client relationship in one place needs a suite, and on this page the only honest answer is that a suite is a second, larger procurement with its own implementation cost. Name the five requirements first, then look. Read the billing software versus ERP comparison.

Who should choose which

Match the product to the buyer situation

None of these is a TallyPrime replacement in the sense of doing the same job, and we have read Tally's own prices rather than working around them. TallyPrime carries a ledger, a lifetime option, and e-invoicing and e-way bills. These are the situations where each of these four is the right purchase on its own terms.

You want accounting and GST filing in one product, with a real free tier

Zoho Books, and this is the best-evidenced entry on the page. Free at no charge with bank reconciliation, GST reports and filing and 50-plus reports, available while financial year revenue stays under 25 lakhs; Standard is INR 899 monthly or INR 749 annually per organisation. Check the 1,000-invoice free cap and the per-organisation model before you plan around it. See the Tally vs Zoho Books comparison

You are a small trading business billing from a phone

myBillBook. Plus is INR 3,490 a year with invoices, barcode scanning and an online store; Pro is INR 3,990 for the year and adds a desktop app, godowns and label printing. The one-user-plus-one-CA ceiling is the thing to check first, and ask myBillBook about the two starting prices its own page states. See how myBillBook compares

You need GST dashboards, e-invoice and e-way bill volumes inside accounting

Busy, on the subscription line. Smart at INR 8,000 per 360 days names a GSTR-1 and IFF dashboard and e-invoice up to 10,000; Power at INR 12,000 handles multiple GSTINs. The reason for caution is on the same page: TDS and TCS reconciliation and filing is marked scheduled, not available. Read the GST billing software position

Your accountant must keep the ledger, and operations need a separate record

Keep the accounting package and add a scoped operational record. This is the arrangement Nox-Billings is built for: invoices, payments and receivables against the client and the work, with the ledger, ledgers and filing staying with the tools built for them. The work worth doing is making the data flow correct and naming who owns the handoff. Read the TallyPrime alternative page

You run a multi-counter shop where staff share a device and discounts go missing

This is the narrow case Nox-Billings addresses, and it is worth naming honestly that Zoho Books is the better buy if what you need is a ledger. Per-person PIN access, discount approval as a separate permission, recorded overrides, and expense tracking in the billing deployment rather than the platform subscription. Read the Nox-Billings product page

You want a multi-user counter position from Vyapar, which we could not verify at all

This is the one gap on the page, and it is a gap about Vyapar, not about Tally. Vyapar is the Indian counter product most readers will expect in a roundup like this, and we could not reach its site on 4 October 2026, so we publish nothing about it. We have written up our own thinking on where a multi-user counter should look, including what we could not confirm, so you can at least see the question rather than a fabricated price. Read the Vyapar alternative page

Where we fit, and where we do not

The honest position on Nox-Billings

Where Nox-Billings is the right buy

When the ledger is already handled and the gap is operational: staff sharing one login at a counter, an unexplained discount, a day-end nobody can reconstruct, and no reliable view of what a client owes by age. In that situation the useful features are unglamorous and specific — a PIN per person, an explicit discount-approval permission, a recorded override, and outstanding value as a view rather than a report. That is what a Nox-Billings deployment is scoped to deliver, along with expense tracking that sits here rather than in a separate tool. See the expense tracking position.

Where Nox-Billings is the wrong buy

If you are reading this page because you want to stop using an accounting package, stop and reconsider. We do not maintain a general ledger, we do not run a period close, and we do not file GST returns, TDS or any other statutory return. Zoho Books has a free tier that includes GST reports and filing, and Busy names Indian GST dashboards in its plans; either is a better buy for the ledger than we are, and we have said so on this page more than once. Nor is there a timesheet record or a payroll module, so those are separate purchases. Read the Tally versus Nox-Billings comparison.

A note on the sources, and on the gap in them. We read everything we could reach on 4 October 2026 and vendor pricing changes without notice. One product a reader expects on this page is absent: Vyapar, which we could not reach at all, so we publish nothing about it. Tally is present, and the figures in its column are read from tallysolutions.com/buy-tally/; an earlier version of this roundup left that column blank because it tested the wrong hostname, which is a correction rather than a standing gap. One vendor, myBillBook, states two different starting prices on the same page, and we published both rather than choosing. Open the links below, confirm the figures, and confirm every Tally detail with Tally.

FAQ

Questions buyers ask first

Why did an earlier version of this page say it could not read Tally?

Because it tested the wrong hostname, and we want the mistake on the record rather than quietly corrected. An earlier check on 4 October 2026 failed to read Tally and this page published nothing about it. That check tested tally.net.in, which does fail the TLS handshake because it serves a certificate issued for an unrelated domain, and it stopped there. It should not have stopped there: those hostnames are not Tally's commercial site. Tally sells from tallysolutions.com, which returns HTTP 200 and publishes its price list. TallyPrime Silver and Gold prices are on this page now, read from https://tallysolutions.com/buy-tally/ on 4 October 2026, with every figure labelled by billing cycle. The general lesson is the one worth keeping: a vendor being unreadable is usually a hostname problem rather than a secret, and any Tally figure quoted by a third party without a source should be treated as unverified until you have read it from the vendor.

Which Zoho Books page did you read, and is it the India price list?

Yes, it is the India list, and the redirect is part of the record. We started from the global URL https://www.zoho.com/books/pricing/ and it returned an HTTP 302 redirect to https://www.zoho.com/in/books/pricing/. The destination page is titled 'Zoho Books Plans | Accounting Software Pricing in India' and is the page that states prices in rupees. Zoho states on that page that prices are exclusive of local taxes, so every rupee figure below is a pre-GST number, and we did not add tax to it.

Is Zoho Books free enough to make the alternatives pointless?

For accounting, genuinely, and this is the most important finding on the page for anyone considering buying an operating platform. The Free plan card on Zoho's own India page lists invoices, quotes, bills, expenses, journals, receipt autoscans, online payment acceptance, automated payment reminders, a self-service customer portal, credits and refunds, bank reconciliation, sales and purchase orders, inventory tracking, GST reports and filing, P&L and Balance Sheet with 50-plus reports, and an invoice management system, for one user plus one accountant. Zoho states it stays available as long as financial year revenue does not exceed a threshold of 25 lakhs, capped at 1,000 invoices and 1,000 bills or expenses a year. If your requirement is the ledger and the filing, that is a real accounting product at no subscription cost and buying an operating platform to get it would be paying twice for the same job.

Which of these actually files GST returns, and which only prepares invoices?

We will only answer this where a vendor's own page states it, and we will always answer it for ourselves. Zoho Books' pricing page names GST reports and filing on the Free plan card, and its Professional plan and above name sales and purchase approvals, so filing is part of what you are buying there. Busy's subscription line names GSTR-1 and IFF dashboards, e-way bills and e-invoice, and multi-GSTIN handling, though Busy marks several other capabilities, including TDS and TCS reconciliation and filing, as scheduled rather than available, so check that one before you rely on it. NoxOrigin prepares invoices and reports and exports them so your accountant can post without re-keying, but it does not maintain a general ledger and does not file GST returns, TDS or any other statutory return. We did not read tax filing detail on myBillBook's or Vyapar's pages.

Why is myBillBook's own FAQ price different from its cheapest plan card?

We could not reconcile it, so we are publishing both rather than picking the one that looks better. The pricing page's structured FAQ says 'myBillBook offers different plans to accommodate businesses of different sizes. Our basic plan starts at Rs.349/month', while the lowest plan card on that same page, the Plus plan, shows INR 403 per month or INR 291 per month billed annually. Both numbers are on myBillBook's own page as we read it on 4 October 2026. We are not going to explain the gap for you; get the figure from myBillBook directly, because a vendor whose own page states two starting prices is worth asking about the annual renewal as well as the headline.

Is any of these actually cheaper than Tally?

Now we can answer it, and the answer is that it depends on which Tally and which cycle, which is exactly why the two products are not comparable on a headline number. TallyPrime Silver is published at ₹750 for 1 Month, ₹2,250 for 3 Months, ₹9,000 for 12 Months and ₹22,500 for Lifetime plus 18% GST; TallyPrime Gold at ₹2,250 for 1 Month, ₹6,750 for 3 Months, ₹27,000 for 12 Months and ₹67,500 for Lifetime plus 18% GST, all read from https://tallysolutions.com/buy-tally/ on 4 October 2026. Tally's own headline is 'flexible plans starting at ₹750'. Put those against the others: Zoho Books is free at no charge up to the 25-lakh revenue threshold, myBillBook publishes rupee prices per month and per year, Busy publishes rupee figures for a 360-day term on its subscription line and separate one-time figures on its older line, and Nox-Billings is a scoped quote with no public price at all. Two things to keep straight when you do that arithmetic. Tally's 3-month and 12-month figures are shown by Tally as an effective per-month amount for a longer term, not as a cheaper monthly price, and Tally's figures are before GST while Zoho's are also stated exclusive of local taxes. And none of these is a like-for-like replacement, because Tally is an accounting package with e-invoicing and e-way bills in it and Nox-Billings is an operational record with no ledger and no statutory filing.

Should we keep Tally and add something else?

Frequently, yes, and that is not a failure. NoxOrigin does not replace an accounting package and says so directly: it owns quotes, GST invoices, payments and receivables, while the ledger, statutory accounting and filing stay with the tools built for them. Keeping your accounting package and adding an operational record is a normal two-product arrangement. What matters is that the data flowing between them is right, that whoever owns the handoff is a named person, and that you are clear about which of the two does the filing.

Sources checked

What we read, and when

Last verified: 4 October 2026. Every vendor figure on this page comes from one of the pages below, in the currency and billing period that page displayed. We did not add tax to any Zoho or Tally figure, did not convert any currency, and kept Tally's effective per-month figures labelled as the longer term they belong to. Sources we could not read are listed as entries in their own right, with the failure described.

Tally

TallyPrime buy page, price list read 4 October 2026

Read at https://tallysolutions.com/buy-tally/, fetched 4 October 2026, which returns HTTP 200 and whose own headline is 'flexible plans starting at ₹750'. TallyPrime Silver, described on the page as 'Suitable for businesses that need TallyPrime on a single PC': 1 Month ₹750; 3 Months ₹2,250, stated as an effective ₹2,138 per month; 12 Months ₹9,000, stated as an effective ₹8,100 per month; Lifetime ₹22,500 plus 18% GST. TallyPrime Gold, described as 'Perfect for businesses needing multi-user access on multiple PCs': 1 Month ₹2,250; 3 Months ₹6,750, stated as an effective ₹6,413 per month; 12 Months ₹27,000, stated as an effective ₹24,300 per month; Lifetime ₹67,500 plus 18% GST. Both editions carry '+18% GST', and the page states the lifetime totals in words as 22,500 + 18% = 26,550 and 67,500 + 18% = 79,500. The feature list on that page includes 'e-Invoicing and e-way bills'. The effective per-month figures are Tally's own arithmetic on the longer term, not a monthly price, and we have not restated them as one. The page states no free tier, no trial, no user count, no document ceiling and no support model, so this roundup makes no claim about any of those.

Open the source
Tally

tally.net.in and www.tally.net.in, the hostname finding that started a correction

Recorded because it is real, not because it is the current state of this page. On 4 October 2026 both apex hostnames failed: curl returns 'no alternative certificate subject name matches target hostname' and the handshake never completes, and they still do. An earlier version of this roundup stopped there and published no Tally figure at all, which was a false claim about a real company rather than an act of caution. Those hostnames are not Tally's commercial site; tallysolutions.com is, and the price list above was read from it on the same date.

Open the source
Zoho

Zoho Books India pricing, per organisation per month

From the page titled 'Zoho Books Plans | Accounting Software Pricing in India': Free at no charge; Standard INR 899 monthly and INR 749 billed annually; Professional INR 1,799 and INR 1,499; Premium INR 3,599 and INR 2,999; Elite INR 5,999 and INR 4,999; Ultimate INR 9,599 and INR 7,999. The page states prices are exclusive of local taxes, and we did not add tax to any of these figures.

Open the source
Zoho

Zoho Books, how the global pricing URL resolved

We requested https://www.zoho.com/books/pricing/ first and it returned an HTTP 302 redirect to https://www.zoho.com/in/books/pricing/. The rupee figures on this page come from the /in/ destination, which is the page that loads and the page whose title states 'Pricing in India'. Recording the redirect matters because the global path is the URL most often pasted into comparisons.

Open the source
Zoho

Zoho Books Free plan card, features and revenue limit

The Free plan card states: create invoices, quotes, bills, expenses and journals; receipt autoscans; accept online payments; automate payment reminders; self-service customer portal; manage credits and refunds; bank reconciliation; track sales and purchase orders; track inventory; GST reports and filing; P&L, Balance Sheet and 50-plus reports; invoice management system; 1 user plus 1 accountant; email support. The FAQ section states the Free plan is available indefinitely as long as revenue for the financial year does not exceed a threshold of 25 lakhs.

Open the source
Zoho

Zoho Books user allowances, add-ons and invoice limits by plan

The page states that Zoho Books allows three users on Standard, five on Professional, ten on Premium, fifteen on Elite and twenty-five on Ultimate by default, and that additional users can be added with the user add-on at INR 180 per month or INR 150 billed annually. From the Premium plan, employees can be added at INR 75 per employee per month or INR 60 billed annually. Locations are INR 600 or INR 720 per location per month, including 1 GSTIN and 10,000 invoices. The page also states annual invoice limits: Free up to 1,000, Standard up to 5,000, Professional up to 10,000, Premium up to 25,000, and Elite and Ultimate up to 1,00,000, with a higher limit available by contacting Zoho. Report scheduling is stated as 5 reports on the free plan, 50 on Standard and 200 on Professional and above.

Open the source
Zoho

Zoho Books Professional plan and above, project and time features

The Professional plan card is described on the page as 'Confidently take on projects, track your inventory, and handle purchases' and lists, above Standard: bill timesheets, project profitability, manage retainers, create price lists, set up sales and purchase approvals, record multi-currency transactions, customise business workflows, collaborate with users, and create custom user roles. Premium and above add advanced analytics, and the Elite and Ultimate cards add 50-plus pre-built data visualisations and KPI tracking. The page states Zoho Books is cloud-based with no installation necessary, that you can try it for 14 days free before subscribing, and that it is pay-as-you-go with no contract and no commitment to continue.

Open the source
myBillBook

myBillBook pricing plans page

Reached and read at mybillbook.in/pricing-plans. The Plus plan card shows INR 403 per month or INR 291 per month billed annually, shown as INR 4,833 reduced to INR 3,490 per year, with 1 business, access for 1 user plus 1 CA, auto sync across unlimited devices, Android, iOS and Web, custom invoice themes, an online store, and print and barcode scanning. The Pro card, marked Most Popular and described as offering more flexibility and a desktop app, shows INR 665 per month or INR 333 per month billed annually, shown as INR 7,982 reduced to INR 3,990 per year, adding a desktop app, godowns, SMS and WhatsApp marketing, barcode label printing, and bulk download and print of invoices. The Pro Max card, described as fully customisable for bigger businesses, starts at INR 1,026 per month or INR 570 per month billed annually, with 2 businesses and 3 users, both upgradeable, plus 1 CA. The page states all plans carry a 7-day money-back guarantee, that yearly subscription carries a discount of up to 20%, and that first-time users can take a free trial by downloading the billing app on their mobile.

Open the source
myBillBook

myBillBook's own FAQ states a different starting price

The structured FAQ on the same pricing page answers 'What is the price of myBillBook billing software?' with: 'myBillBook offers different plans to accommodate businesses of different sizes. Our basic plan starts at Rs.349/month.' The lowest plan card on that same page shows the Plus plan at INR 403 per month. We could not reconcile the two figures from the page, so this roundup publishes both and attributes them to myBillBook rather than choosing between them.

Open the source
Could not load

myBillBook pricing paths that did not resolve, attempted 4 October 2026

The path www.mybillbook.com/pricing returned HTTP 404, as did www.mybillbook.com/pricing/ and www.mybillbook.com/signup and www.mybillbook.com/pricing-plans. The www.mybillbook.com root did load and redirects to mybillbook.in, and mybillbook.in/pricing-plans is the page that carries the plan figures. mybillbook.in/pricing also returned a page but with no prices in the markup we received, because the plan data is rendered client-side. We therefore record mybillbook.in/pricing-plans as the source of every myBillBook figure on this page.

Open the source
Busy

Busy subscription line, per 360 days

From the BUSY Magic pricing page: Start at INR 5,000 per 360 days, described as billing and accounting for a non-GST business; Smart at INR 8,000 per 360 days, marked Most Popular and described as billing, accounting and complete GST, with a GSTR-1 and IFF dashboard, e-way bill and e-invoice creation up to 10,000, and party return status checks; Power at INR 12,000 per 360 days, described as tailored for multi-branch operations, managing multiple GSTINs in one company with e-way bill and e-invoice creation up to 20,000; and Power+ at INR 50,000 per 360 days, described as tailored for large enterprises, listing 10 users, 150 companies, e-way bill and e-invoice creation up to 50,000, and email, WhatsApp and premium voice support. The page states there are no perpetual plans in BUSY Magic, that existing BUSY 21 users can migrate, and that the Smart, Power and Power+ plans also allow additional users. Each card shows a special offer of one mobile app for the first 360 days at no cost.

Open the source
Busy

Busy BUSY 21 editions, separate from the subscription line

The same page carries a second, older product line with a different pricing basis. Its structured data lists Express at INR 0, described as 100% free billing and accounting; Basic at INR 11,000, described as billing and accounting for a non-GST business; Standard at INR 16,500, described as billing, accounting and complete GST; and Enterprise at INR 22,000, described as tailored for multi-branch operations. These figures are displayed without a recurring period, and the page's own FAQ distinguishes BUSY 21 from BUSY Magic by stating that BUSY Magic has subscription plans while existing BUSY 21 users can migrate into it. We are not treating the two lines as interchangeable.

Open the source
Busy

Busy capabilities marked as scheduled rather than available

The BUSY Magic plan cards mark most listed capabilities as verified, meaning available, and mark a specific set as schedule, meaning planned rather than shipped. The ones marked schedule that we could read include TDS and TCS reconciliation and filing, production and unassembly, job-work, and build custom reports. We publish this because a TDS filing capability is exactly the sort of thing a purchasing manager would otherwise assume is included.

Open the source
Busy

Busy's own published rating, on its own page

The pricing page's structured data includes an aggregate rating of 4.5 out of 5 from 368 ratings. This is Busy rating itself, published by Busy, and we have no visibility into how the ratings are collected, who is invited or whether they are filtered. We record it because it is on the page, and we label it as the vendor's own unverified claim rather than presenting it as independent evidence. No other product on this page is quoted a rating, because we did not find an equivalent figure on the others' pages.

Open the source
Could not load

Vyapar pricing page, attempted 4 October 2026

Unreachable from our network. Both vyaparapp.com and www.vyaparapp.com timed out after 20 seconds on the /pricing/ path with no response, and the same result on the apex host, so no page was returned. This is a transport failure rather than a 404 and we cannot confirm which plans Vyapar currently sells. This page therefore contains no Vyapar price, feature or positioning claim, and Vyapar is absent from the comparison table for the same reason. Vyapar may well be a strong fit for an Indian counter; we simply could not verify it today, and we have a separate page on our own thinking about where a multi-user counter should look.

Open the source
NoxOrigin

Nox-Billings is a scoped deployment, and what that means

Our own commercial terms, stated so a reader can check them: Nox-Billings is sold as a dedicated custom deployment quoted as a scoped quote rather than a self-serve subscription, with locations, counters, staff and bill volumes all scoped, and the quote follows review of workflow, volume, hardware, branding and integration requirements. The NoxOrigin platform plan list of INR 800, INR 1,600 and INR 5,000 per month applies to the platform only and is not the price of a Nox-Billings deployment. Our product boundaries on this page: no general ledger, no statutory filing, no timesheet record, no payroll module, and expense tracking with categorisation and reporting sits in Nox-Billings rather than the platform subscription.

Open the source