| What the vendor says the product is | A cloud accounting package. Its own India page is a price list for accounting software sold per organisation, and the feature cards are ledger features: bank reconciliation, sales and purchase orders, inventory, and financial reports. | Khatabook’s own meta description: “a free and easy to use digital ledger app for small businesses and shop owners”, for managing an “udhar bahi khata”, on a phone, “in your chosen language”. The about page describes the first offering as an Android app for digitally recording the credit a business extends to its customers. We read no more specific product description than this, because we could not reach a product page. |
|---|
| Who it is aimed at | Organisations with a ledger to keep, priced in six tiers from a free plan upwards, with published user allowances, invoice limits, and volume caps that grow with the plan. | “Small businesses and shop owners”, and a “6.3 crore-strong MSME sector” in Khatabook’s own framing. A phone-first, language-first, single-ledger audience rather than an accounts department. |
|---|
| Price list and currency | Published in Indian rupees on the India page, per organisation per month: Free at no charge; Standard INR 899 monthly or INR 749 billed annually; Professional INR 1,799 or INR 1,499; Premium INR 3,599 or INR 2,999; Elite INR 5,999 or INR 4,999; Ultimate INR 9,599 or INR 7,999. The page states prices are exclusive of local taxes. | No price list is published, so we publish no figure. Khatabook describes the product as free and publishes no page on which that claim is set out in tiers. Ask them what free includes, whether it is permanent, and what a paid tier would cost. |
|---|
| Free tier and its ceiling | A real free accounting plan. Zoho states the Free plan stays available indefinitely as long as financial year revenue does not exceed a threshold of INR 25 lakhs, for 1 user plus 1 accountant, capped at 1,000 invoices and 1,000 bills or expenses a year. The card lists receipt autoscans, accepting online payments, automated payment reminders, a self-service customer portal, credits and refunds, bank reconciliation, sales and purchase orders, inventory, GST reports and filing, and a P&L, Balance Sheet and 50+ reports. | Khatabook calls the product free. We could not read a terms page that explains the boundary, so we do not describe one, and we do not know whether a paid tier exists. Treat “free” as their description of the product, not as a verified unlimited plan. |
|---|
| How cost grows with the business | Three ways, all published: the plan tier itself, the user allowance, and paid add-ons. Default users are three on Standard, five on Professional, ten on Premium, fifteen on Elite, and twenty-five on Ultimate, with a user add-on at INR 180 per month or INR 150 annually, and an employee add-on from Premium at INR 75 per employee per month or INR 60 annually. Annual invoice limits rise from 1,000 on Free to 5,000, 10,000, 25,000, and 1,00,000 on Elite and Ultimate. | Nothing published to compare. This is the practical gap: you can model Zoho Books’ cost at three different team sizes from their page, and you cannot model Khatabook’s at all. |
|---|
| Double-entry ledger, balance sheet, bank reconciliation | Yes, and this is the product. The Free plan card alone lists bank reconciliation, a P&L, a Balance Sheet, and 50+ reports. | Not stated. Khatabook calls itself a digital ledger for recording credit owed to the business. Its about page makes no claim about double-entry bookkeeping, a trial balance, financial statements, or matching bank lines to entries, so we publish no claim either way. If you need statements an auditor would accept, put that question to Khatabook in writing. |
|---|
| Where it runs | A cloud-based service. Zoho states no installation is necessary because it is accessed through a computer browser and smartphone, and that you can try it for 14 days free before subscribing. | Khatabook’s own page describes an Android app on your phone, accessed in your chosen language. We read no statement about a browser version, a desktop client, or offline behaviour, so we publish none. |
|---|
| Language | Nothing on the India pricing page names a language count or an Indian-language interface, so we publish no claim. | Language is central to Khatabook’s own description, which says you manage the khata “in your chosen language” and states the product has reached merchants across 12 languages. For a shop owner who does not want to work in English, that is the single most consequential difference on this page, and it is Khatabook telling us, not us inferring it. |
|---|
| GST, as each vendor’s own page states it | The Free plan card lists “GST reports and filing” and the product navigation carries a GST Filing section, so Zoho makes a filing claim in public. | Khatabook’s about page says nothing about GST, GST invoicing, e-invoicing, or e-way bills. The only GST references on that page are links to free website tools, a GST Calculator and an HSN Code List and GST Rate Finder, which are marketing content rather than a product capability. We publish no GST claim for Khatabook. |
|---|
| Inventory, bills, and purchasing | Published on the Free plan card: track sales and purchase orders and track inventory, with bills and expenses counted against published annual limits. | Not stated on the page we could read. We publish no claim. |
|---|
| Getting paid | The Free plan card lists accepting online payments, automated payment reminders, and a self-service customer portal. The string “UPI” does not appear anywhere on the page, so we publish no UPI-specific claim for Zoho Books from this source. That is a statement about the page, not about the product. | Not stated. Khatabook’s about page describes recording credit owed to the business, which is the opposite direction of money from a debtor actually arriving, and we read no collections feature claim. We publish none. |
|---|
| Sales pipeline, quoting, and CRM | Not the job of this product. The India pricing page makes no CRM, lead, opportunity, or quoting claim, and we publish none. | Not the job of this product either, on the evidence we read. We publish no claim for it. |
|---|
| Commitment and cancellation | Zoho states it is pay-as-you-go, that you are not obligated to sign a contract or commit to continuing the subscription, and that the 14-day trial precedes any subscription. | Nothing published. Ask Khatabook about renewal terms and what happens to your khata data if you stop paying. |
|---|
| Maturity and scale | A large, long-established vendor with a six-tier published price list, published per-plan limits, and a support and add-on structure documented in public. We publish no customer count, revenue figure, or review score for Zoho, because we verified none. | Khatabook states on its own about page that the app “went viral”, has been “downloaded over 5 Crore+ times”, and has reached “5 Crore registered merchants across 12 languages in less than a year”, and frames itself around building for a “6.3 crore-strong MSME sector”. Those are Khatabook’s own claims, quoted as claims, and we did not verify any of them. They describe reach; they are not evidence of accounting depth, and the same company publishes no feature list we could read. |
|---|